Rebel Miniatures’ Deep Ones

A few weeks ago I featured Khurasan Miniatures’ Deep Ones on the Prehistoriczoo15, and today I’ll have a look at
Rebel Miniatures’ version of H.P. Lovecraft’s denizens of the deep. Rebel’s Deep Ones pack is appropriately part
of their growing Pulp Adventures range and contains 24 Deep Ones in 6 poses. Unlike Khurasan’s figures, four of
the figures are armed with javelins/spears and shields while remaining two are unarmed. Another difference with
the Khurasan offering is the prescence of a tail and a larger fin running down the creature’s back. The Khurasan
models also have a small fin on the back of each forearm, and this is absent from the Rebel Deep Ones. For me,
these differences are no problem and I happily mix the two lines together.Here is Lovecraft’s own description from “Shadows Over Innnsmouth:

“I think their predominant colour was a greyish-green, though they
had white bellies.  They were mostly shiny and slippery, but the ridges of their
backs were scaly.  Their forms vaguely suggested the anthropoid, while their
heads were the heads of fish, with prodigious bulging eyes that never closed.
At the sides of their necks were palpitating gills, and their long paws
were
webbed.  They hopped irregularly, sometimes on two
legs and sometimes on four.  I was somehow glad that they had no more than four
limbs.”

My only regret is that I did not bother examining my already finished Khurasan models before basing my Rebel figures.  It turns out that I used larger washers for the Khurasan Deep Ones due to slightly larger integral bases. This kept me from adding a tiny seashell here and there since I used smaller washers for the Rebel figures. Oh well.

One neat feature of the Rebel figures is that their arms are very bendy, allowing the poses to be varied and examples of this are included in the pics. I painted my Rebel Deep Ones to match my Khurasan figures. For the weapons I first considered painting the shields as natural shells and the spear-shafts wood, etc, but then I thought an ‘otherworldly’ look might be more interesting so I painted the shields and spearheads with weird colored metallic craft paints. The spear-shafts were painted blue (though the flash makes them look light blue, the are really darker), and the stone spearheads were painted a grey-green shade.

Rebel and Khurasan Deep Ones go well together and also match well with Khurasan’s Salamen. I’m considering getting myself more Salamen to paint as a different variety of Deep One (who knows what strange genetics might be involved with creatures that can mate outside of their species?). Another option would be to include a few of East Riding Miniatures frog folk for yet another variation of this strange alien race. Now I’m a little sad I never bought the Evil Gong 15mm fishmen.ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Duane on July 19, 2012 at 5:49 am

    Outstanding, Duane

    Reply

  2. Posted by SDT on July 20, 2012 at 12:24 am

    That is quite an impressive horde! The spears on the Rebel minis look a bit too thick, but the shields are nicely detailed. Now that I see how well they go with the Khurasan Deep Ones, I may buy them.

    Those policemen are doomed…

    Reply

Leave a comment